SEVENOAKS RAIL TRAVELLERS ASSOCIATION

Minutes of Annual General Meeting

Thursday 14 October 2021 at 7.30pm by Zoom

Chairman: Tony Clayton

Attendees: Graham Clark (office of Laura Trott), George Paterson (SER), Scott

Brightwell (SER), Geoffrey Kirby (Eynsford PC) and 17 members, supporters and guests of

the Association

1. Chairman's introduction

The Chairman welcomed members, supporters and guests and presented the Committee's Annual Report for 2020-21. He said that there had been a good engagement with SER on the recovery of service. A new ticket machine had been installed at Bat & Ball.

2. Train Services

Scott Brightwell, Train Services Director for Southeastern, said that SER were currently operating 84% of train services. Passenger numbers at peak were 40-45% of those prepandemic, around 50% overall. Overcrowding was now more in the middle of the day rather than the traditional peaks. 12-car networkers were now being run. The 2022 timetable planned in 2018 was now off the agenda, and future timetables would be based on demand and travel patterns post-pandemic. Ticketing reform was being reviewed in the light of new travel patterns.

On the Great British Railways proposal, Tony Clayton said that the move to concessions was welcome, and something that the SRTA had been calling for, but that the SRTA would still like to see separation of metro and mainline responsibilities.

SER said that technical issues about new Maidstone East to London services were being sorted, but that DfT were still reluctant to take risks. SER were looking at a few off peak services from Maidstone East to Blackfriars.

SER said that a fleet of 707 City Beam trains were planned to replace Networkers. These would be more accessible trains with walk-through and air conditioning. Members stressed the importance of toilets.

3. Formal business

- The Minutes of the 2020 Annual General Meeting were approved.
- The Annual Report for 2020-21 was approved.
- The Accounts for 2020 were approved.
- Tony Clayton was re-elected as Chairman.
- The following were elected to the Committee: Ms Canet, Cllr Parry, Messrs Dolby-Gray, Johnson, Ryan, Dodds, Crawley and Stott (Secretary).

Andrew Stott Secretary Sevenoaks Rail Travellers Association